Table Cloth(ing)

Please note: Seven Ways to Dissect a Button-Down is suspended for a day or two due to a tragic shortage of button-downs. Please accept, instead, this picture of me in a tablecloth.

Would you guess that this skirt used to be a tablecloth? You would? Because I told you? Well…fine. *Sticks out tongue in a childish manner*

This skirt was a lot of fun to make. You remember that I bought this tablecloth, along with a bunch of other stuff, at a yard sale recently. It was a big circular cloth, so I figured I could just cut a hole in the middle, add a waistband, and make a circle skirt. And I was right! Although it did take me a few tries to 1) get the pleats right and 2) figure out how to sew a buttonhole. But the final result was definitely better than I expected when I bought the cloth. The pleating even strategically hides a paint stain. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to twirl away like one of those skydancer toys from the mid-90s.

(Only, you know. They flew instead of just standing there.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kat
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 15:17:34

    Only unlike those spinny toys, you don’t get hopelessly tangled in my hair and cause my mother to yell at me. It’s cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

