Basement Find–Vintage shirt? Lingerie?

I went basement diving yesterday. My parents both like to save everything, and our basement is pretty extensive, so there was a lot of ground to cover. And I found some interesting things, including this piece that belonged to my paternal grandmother back in the 1950s or 60s. And now, I’m not exactly sure what to do with it.

In case you can’t tell from the picture, it’s beautiful. It was also ripped in three different places, two of which I could fix and one of which I couldn’t. I decided to give up on the tear on the sleeve since it was missing some fabric, and so I cut both sleeves off to make cap sleeves.

Now, I really want to use this piece and wear it, because it belonged to my grandmother, and because I think it’s super-neat and sort of a classic example of careful garment construction. I mean, look at all those tiny pin-tucks, the care with which everything is edged…it just makes me happy. But I run into this problem; how do you wear something that’s simultaneously very stuffily cut and completely transparent?

I don’t think that a bra is enough clothing. I only wish I were Lady Gaga.

Alternately, with a camisole, it looks stuffy and old-ladyish…

I think that maybe the answer is a bandeau bra, or a less fussy camisole, but I don’t want to buy a new thing because new things cost precious, precious money. If you have any ideas for how to wear this thing and not look silly, feel free to speak up in the comments.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kat
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 11:35:49

    Line the whole shirt with white silk?

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 11:36:11

    Maybe deconstruct a slip, use that fabric.

    Reply

  3. Carlene
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 19:07:58

    Yeah, line it. It actually looks like it’s lined when it’s flat, except on the sleeves.

    Reply

  4. Grace
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 20:09:55

    I’d say line it, as well. Something less fussy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

