The corset formerly known as sundress

Apparently, my entire house is supported structurally and insulated against the weather by failed projects from my childhood, because today I found a box jammed up against the wall under my bed with a bunch of deformed clothing in it.

One particularly weird item was an ill-fitting sundress–a kind of Marilyn Monroe style thing with a drapey halter neck–that I’d made out of plaid. Not just any plaid, either. An almost Burberry plaid, a warm-toned one that was less picnic blanket and more foul-weather scarf. Although I’ve got to give it to my past self, she was pretty fearless. In honor of her, I decided to try a project that was out of my league: a corset.

I found this great tutorial online, and then altered the pattern to make the bottom of my corset look like the bottom of a suit vest. I used some of my collection of vintage buttons that my grandmother gave me. And this, my friends, is how it went:

I was kind of inspired by this Vivienne Westwood piece, although my tailoring “skills” are not nearly that “mad”, as the kids would say. I like the idea of making clothes that are edgy because they’re a little bit stuffy and a little formal. But whereas she took a classic tailored shape and added an insane plaid, I took a pretty classic plaid and went with a weird shape. See what I did there?

Right about the time I was congratulating myself about how I was doing Interesting Things With Textiles and how I might someday be a Big Designer…I realized that the plaid was facing sideways on two of the panels. Other seamstresses will feel my pain.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kat
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 11:13:18

    Kickass!

    Reply

  2. faerieshadow
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 11:30:53

    It looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

