Tutu? You, too? Youtube? Um…skirt.

Ever since I was about three years old, I’ve wanted a tutu. I think I even had one for a little while; if I didn’t, it certainly wasn’t for lack of begging. So today, to placate my inner child, I decided to make one.

I started with the traditional bunch-up-some-fabric technique; I cut about a million strips from my Giant Bolt of Orange Tulle (see photo), which lives in my room and taunts me with its impracticality. This was oddly relaxing.

Then I bunched up all of those strips, one at a time, and pinned them onto a waistband that I made out of two sleeves from a t-shirt–in fact, the same t-shirt that I used to make one of the tank tops in a previous entry, thus winning me many frugality points. Congratulating myself, I added a quadruple-layer of tulle underneath the strips for modesty’s sake and sewed the whole mess together. And here it is:

As you may notice, I made a few mistakes. First was that under the weight of all that tulle, the waistband stretched out, making it bunchy and weird and meaning that I had to add a drawstring to keep it around my body (that’s that weird little ribbon end emerging from my clothing.) Second, I didn’t realize just how…orange…this project was until I photographed it.

On the bright side, I think that the orange will look good in moderation–i.e., with another skirt over it. If I use it as a crinoline I can add a little bit of orange zing to everything without having to go around looking like CinderPumpkin.

As soon as I came downstairs to show my family, my aunt said, “Oh, neat! You know, I just bought you something like that, only black. Black taffeta. A…crinoline! That’s it!” So now I Have two. When it rains, it pours fluffy skirts, apparently.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Derrick Douglass
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 11:22:50

    NICE!

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 12:57:17

    That’s fantastic- and in addition to the gawdawful huge white one, your skirts will never lack puff again. I think the orange is lovely.

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 01:29:23

    You should wear that under a bright red dress, and be a fiery goddess. 😀

    Oh, and oddly enough, I did have a tutu as a little girl (back in my days as a pink fairy princess). It was white with multicolor pale ribbons around the sides.

    Reply

  4. thecraftersmanifesto
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 02:31:55

    Oh, neat! Also, I like the fiery goddess idea. Maybe that’s next year’s halloween costume. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

