Contest Dress, final product!

Last night I posted my finished dress on Craftster, and I’ve been getting an overwhelmingly positive response. I’m so happy, I’m daring to think I might win! In which case, I would get a lovely free t-shirt, as well as fame and glory. We can only hope.

This crafting challenge fits right into my philosophy as a crafter, which is to use old rather than new, to take what you’ve got and make it magical instead of running out and buying the new trendy thing. And I think I achieved that here.

Here is the dress. It’s all made out of the black bedsheet, and I’m still sort of amazed by how well it turned out. I tried darts for the second time ever, and I’m really coming to appreciate how much darts contribute to well-fitting clothing. This post is going to be a little photo-heavy because I’m so happy.

As you can tell, I’m ecstatic.

Stay posted for news on whether or not I won. I’ll be heading out to Portland, Oregon next week so I’m going to try and squeeze in a tutorial before I go, something to keep you all occupied, or at least amused at my folly. And I’ll be posting pictures of neat handicrafts and homemades that I find in Portland, which is famous for being the freakiest, weirdest place on the west coast. You excited? I know I am.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trail's Crafts
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 17:10:07

    I love the dress. Great design and great color.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

